Life in Kansas City – RV Show Prep

Just as last year, I’ve been looking forward to the KC RV Show coming up in about a month. Here is a quick look back at last years preparation for those interested. What’s different this year is I’ve been learning a lot about construction methods and will be able to evaluate rigs more completely. Karen and I are also at the point in our search we have started considering what floor plans we are interested in.

I downloaded a list of fifth wheels that are scheduled to be at the show. I noticed a few models, sold by local RV dealerships, were not on the list. Such as the Keystone Montana.  I can’t image the Montana not being in the show so I assume the list is not final.

There are six fifth wheels on the list that I’m interesting in looking at. Especially the all new for 2016 Forest River – Riverstone. In this price range we would be looking at a used model should we decide to buy one. Forest River will be going up against the DRV Mobile Suites and the Augusta Luxe. DRV will be at the show but so far not the Luxe. Although I’ve never seen a Luxe in person, the videos are impressive.

Riverstone (1024x395)

Forest River – Riverstone

I’m also most interesting in taking a closer look at the KZ Durango Gold and hope their new G381REF floor plan will be in the show. We saw this plan first with Grand Design which has a sliding glass door. I was not impressed  because the sliding door would cut down on insulation values.  Karen and I like the separation between the kitchen and living room. We also like the front living room models but, like others, have concerns about using stairs up to an area we would use a lot. And I’ve yet to find a front living room model that has good basement storage. Also, often front living rooms have the main awning over the dinette slide which we aren’t impressed with.

2016-KZ-RV-Durango-Gold-G381REF

KZ Durango Gold – Model G381REF

Karen and I considered last years show to be a success because we were able to decide a fifth wheel fits our style of travel compared to a Class A motorhome.  It would be wonderful if we found a floor plan that feels like home. Our budget does not allow for one of those fancy new DRVs, but we look at them anyway because we could afford a three or four year old unit. DRV was purchased by Thor in 2015. I think their lessor priced Traditions model is gone as it’s not on their website.  In my opinion DRV might have to modernize their interior finishes, especially when compared to similar priced Luxes.

So this year, for me anyway, the shows all about floor plans and checking construction methods. I’m taking time off from work and hope to attend when the shows not so busy.

I’ve been spending some time learning about fifth wheel braking systems and solar.  Hope to post my notes soon,

3 thoughts on “Life in Kansas City – RV Show Prep

  1. Would love to meet you and compare notes. Our plan is FT in 2018 although i’m retiring in 2016. I read your comments from last year – surprised you didn’t see the Heartland Landmark 365, as it s one of a few warrantied for FT. The factory rep was there last year so i’m sure he’ll be there again.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Heavier vs. Lighter Fifth Wheels | Our Future in an RV

Comments are Appreciated

